by Okungbowa Aiwerie

Delta Governor, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, Tuesday sent the names of eight commissioner-nominees to the Delta State House of Assembly.

Delta Speaker, Sheriff Oborevwori read the names of the nominees on the floor of the house at the first plenary of the 7th Assembly of the House.

The eight nominees who have been directed to appear for screening on Thursday include, Patrick Ukah, Festus Ochonogor, Basil Ganagana, Mrs. Florence Alanta, James Auguoye, Peter Mrakpor, Mr Chika Ossai and Prof Patrick Muoboghare.

Meanwhile, the legislature has approved the Governor’s request for appointment of fifteen Special Advisers in line with section 196, subsection 1 of the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The approval followed the unanimous adoption of a motion to that effect by the Deputy Speaker, Ochor Ochor.

Dr Okowa stated that the appointment of the Special Advisers is to assist him in performance of certain executive functions as Governor, Delta State.

Also, the Seventh Delta State House of Assembly has been fully constituted with the appointments of principal officers of the house.

The appointments were made up of the two political parties in the state, the People’s Democratic Party, PDP and All Progressive Party, APC.

The PDP returned the member representing Isoko North, Tim Owhefere and the member representing Bomadi Constituency, Oboro Preyor as Majority Leader and Deputy Majority Leader of the house.

Also returned is Pat Ajudua as the Chief Whip , while Solomon Ighrakpata, Uvwie Constituency and Festus Okoh, Ika South were named Deputy Chief Whip and Majority Whip respectively.

For the two APC opposition seats in the house, the member representing Ethiope East, Innocent Anidi was named Minority leader, while the member representing Ughelli North 11 Constituency,  Moses Anaughe is the Minority Whip.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here